Click the button above to login.

Please donate now to support MACDL's work!  

Benefactor: $750
Sustaining Member: $500
Supporting Member: $250
Contributing Member: $100

Click here to make your contribution.


  Each year at its annual meeting in June, the Maine Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers presents two awards.

President’s Award 

       This award is given each year to the criminal defense attorney who best exemplifies the goals and values of MACDL and the legal profession.

This year's award winner is: 


Past recipients: 

Stephen Schwartz, Neale Duffett, David Beneman, Walt McKeeTim Zerillo, Ed Folsom, Virginia Villa, Matthew B. Nichols, Jamesa Drake, Jonathan Handelman, and James Mason.

Unsung Hero Award 

       This award is given each year to the criminal defense attorney who best exemplifies the highest level of commitment, passion, and tireless pursuit of justice in the representation of indigent defendants.

This year's award winner is:


Past recipients: 

Sherry Tash, Rob Ruffner, Amy Fairfield, Jeremy Pratt, Robert A. Levine, Lisa Whittier, Joe Mekonis, Ned Chester, Chris Ledwick, and Chris Northrop.

    To submit a nomination, please send a letter outlining the candidate’s qualifications based on the criteria above. 

    Nominations should be submitted to:

Maine Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

Executive Director

P.O. Box 17642

Portland, ME 04112-8642




  • To promote the study and research in the field of criminal defense law and related areas.
  • To disseminate and advance by lecture, seminars, and publications the knowledge of the law relating to criminal defense practice.
  • To promote the proper administration of justice.
  • To foster, maintain, and encourage the integrity, independence, and expertise of the defense lawyer in criminal cases.
  • To call periodic meetings of defense lawyers and to provide a forum for the exchange of information regarding the administration of criminal justice, and thereby,
  • To protect individual rights and improve the criminal law, its practices and procedures.


MACDL Donor Members

Thank you for your extra support!


Amy L. Fairfield

Walter F. McKee

Stephen J. Schwartz

Sustaining Members

Justin W. Andrus

Devens M. Hamlen

Tina H. Nadeau

Supporting Members

Dylan R. Boyd

Jamesa J. Drake

Scott F. Hess

Matthew D. Morgan

Christopher M. Northrop

Luke Rioux

Adam Sherman

John S. Webb

Christopher Whalley

Contributing Members

William Bart

Andrew Edwards

Stacey Neumann

Logan Perkins

Meredith Schmid

Heather Seasonwein

Stuart Tisdale

Amber L. Tucker

Hunter J. Tzovarras

Robert Van Horn

Andrew Wright

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events

(c) Maine MACDL 2018

Find us on Facebook!

Follow us on Twitter!

Maine Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers is a 501(c)(6) non-profit organization. 


P.O. Box 17642

Portland, ME 04112-8642

(207) 523-9869

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software